September 11, 2007
-
[mood | Furious
]
[music| Jay Chou- Bu Neng Shuo de Mimi]So I went to my new Kaiser doc today. For those of you who don’t know already, I HATE HATE HATE HATE Kaiser. Arghhhhhhhhhhh! I soooooooo can’t wait until Jan when open enrollment kicks in and I can change to Blue Cross.
I got a new due date of Feb 12 (so funny, that’s G-Unit’s bday too!) so I am 18 weeks now (funny how I was supposedly 15 and I kept telling them they’re off…). It’s in the middle of the time I thought (LMP) and the first quoted due date.
Anyways, doc I saw was a TOTAL ASSHOLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
As soon as he walked in and picked up my chart he was like “you’re way too overweight.” I replied (in case he missed this) “I’m 18 weeks (4.5 months) pregnant”.He goes on to say, ” Let’s see here (whips out a BMI chart)… looks like you need to go on a no carb, no sugar, all fruit and veggie and protien diet. And excercise every day for at least 45 min-one hour”.
I sat there completely stunned and feeling like shit.
I weighed 120 before the pill (I am 5’4) in Sept. By April I weighed 145-149 depending on the day/time of the day/etc. (So I got off the pill, duh). When I went to the doc in June for my supposedly 8 wk appt (actually only 6 weeks) I was up to 149. (in the evening). I went to my July 20 appt and I was 149. (mid morning/early afternoon), I went in Aug 17 and was 147. I went back Aug 20 and had gained that tw weight back and was at 149. Today I was 153 (after work, after dinner, in work clothes) and I got totally yelled at about how I was already too fat, gained too much weight and I can only gain a total of 20lbs, so over the next 22 weeks I can only gain 13 more lbs!
What a total ass! My mom and him were arguing and I left in tears. That fucker. I mean I know I am a little overweight (according to his BMI chart I should not weigh over 144 (145 makes me overweight) at my height and pre-pregnancy I was at 149). I wonder if those charts take in your body type and boobs. I mean for fucks’ sake I wear a 34DDD! And I do have big bones. At 149 I had a 24 in waist and ok now it’s up to 27.Ugh it’s so annoying. I feel so fat now, but I know lots of girls who gained 15lbs+ in the first trimester. I gained 4!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anyways, I just needed to vent…..
Comments (17)
don’t sweat it, hun. you’re pregnant, so feed that baby!
you are NOT FAT!!!!!!!!!!!! girlfriend, ignore the doctor… eat plenty of fresh foods, exercise not cuz he told you to but because it’s good for you and your baby and don’t listen to that stupid doctor – he’s crazy. you are beautiful and your baby will be too!!! be happy and eat for two
What a pisser! No one is supposed to diet while they’re pregnant… And it’s not like you need to to begin with! The nerve! That’s not even sound medical advice for pregnant women. And omg! 24″ waist, and 27″ while prego! Wow! I’m sure there are lots of jealous women (and men, lol…) I can’t remember when i was that small!
First, congrats!
Second, don’t worry so much about the weight. I’d just try to keep under 200 lbs.
My colleague had a similar experience with her doctor…I think they are all trained to put the fear of god in you for some reason!
aw dont get mad. that wouldn’t be good for the baby
just think positive!
exercise. and sing!
and your baby would listen to ur singing too
and when u are happy, things would be easier
hahah thanks chris…gosh i hope i don’t go over 200!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
nah, i was only at csuf for jobshadowing
i’ll be going to uci this fall
majoring in nursing science, it has nothin to do with being a chinese teacher hahaha
m..for ur exercise.. walk!! haha
yeah, i am curious, what kind of exercise can u do?
when u find out, tell me!
Wow, how did I miss all this? I must have been gone from Xanga longer than I thought–I didn’t even know you were pregnant, and here you are nearly four months along! Congratulations. Don’t let the doctor bother you… or get a female doctor. Only a man could be such an ass about pregnancy and four pounds. Geez.
Just so you know, I had a dietician friend tell me that breastfeeding burns about 500 calories a day. The baby weight comes off quickly, supposedly, if you diet sensibly and breastfeed at the same time.
ryc: I just took light strolls while I was prego because I was sooo tired all the time. Plus, I wasn’t regularly exercising to begin with and most books say don’t start a new exercise program while you’re pregnant. So I was like, oh okay! Fine with me, lol…
The $5 off diaper special at Babies R Us is pretty good! You probably don’t need to stock up this early though. They take up a lot of space, and I’m sure you’re gonna have a baby shower or two, so you should definitely register for them. Pampers Swaddlers in Size 1 are the best for newborns. They are the softest and hold in the blow-out diapers the best (The Newborn size Swaddlers are actually more expensive and they outgrow them really quickly. But you can get a small package or two if you’d like). The hospital that I was at only had size 1s… and they sent us home with a pack, plus we tucked away diapers in our bags every time they re-filled the drawer under the baby’s crib, hehe…
34DDD?!?! omg… @_@
my first GF was that size… she was irish. =D
Don’t worry about the baby weight, you will lose them all after because of the work to look after a baby and no sleep. One of my girlfriend has gained 70 lbs ( I am not joking) but 2 months after the baby she lost everything plus a bit more. Maybe you should change doctor, find one which make yourself comfortable
its not that i dont agree with him about not gaining tooooo much weight, but then you gained 4 lbs only! and you’re pregnant and you have got to feed that baby! so ignore him and eat lots of healthy food for the baby
Hey, thought you might be interested in this news, too!
I don’t know your email address anymore. Think I tried emailing your yahoo but got no response. Otherwise I would have emailed you.
祝你中秋節快樂!
Yep, I’m in law school now! I go to Southwestern. . . it’s really small, only about 1,000 students so everyone knows everyone. How have you been? Congrats on the pregnancy! Hope you haven’t had too much morning sickness. Take care!
ryc: i rhyme all the time… but then again, i’m in the closet. =P