November 27, 2007

  • [mood | tired sleepy  ]
    [music| Zhang Xue You- 1000 sad reasons (oldie but goodie)]

    Whew…what a scare!

    Contractions are a bitch!  I am totally fearing labor right now. On Sunday night about 1:30 in the morning I started having contractions. At first it was just tightening in my tummy. I was like ok, this is weird but whatever. Then it started to feel like the mother of all cramps. I was like wtf is this?!? Plus I had backpain like you wouldn’t believe. Not your typical my belly and boobs are too heavy back pain, but like a dull one. Then the cervix pain came back. Weird. What the hell is this? Why does it feel like something is stabbing me in the cervix? Ugh!

    So instead of keeping Charlie up (who told me to take some tylenol and sleep   men!) I went to lay on the couch and read about pre-term labor. I tried drinking 1L of water and laying on my side, counting contractions. Damn, still 5 that hour. Fuck. So I call Kaiser (now 2:30am) and ask them what I should do. They tell me to lay on my side and count them, drink another L of water (btw this was my 4th L of water that day) and count contractions. So here I continue to lay on my couch, praying baby doesn’t come this early coz god knows I don’t want to deliver at Kaiser, and I was hoping my water doesn’t break on the couch lol. So at 3:30 I call back and tell her I had 4 in an hour, I can’t possibly drink any more water and the pain still hurts. She tells me ok, well you need to come into labor & delivery….great, just great.

    So what do I do? Charlie is sound asleep, won’t really wake up, so I drive myself to Kaiser in Anaheim (28 miles from my place).  Here I am speeding up the 5, talking to my mom on the phone, I fly by a highway patrol going 90+ thinking fuck it, I may be in labor lol, he flies by me going god knows how fast and I manage to get there where some lady puts me on a machine to monitor. Well this monitoring went on for hours. They decided I needed an IV—more fluids, as if 4L wasn’t enough? Isn’t that a freakin galon???  Then they keep checking. They want to give me something that makes the contractions stop—but they’re already decreasing to 3 an hour. She said once I reach 1-2 I can go home. I was there until like 8am—so tired, just in time to drive myself home in rush hour. And OMG is rush hour in LA horrific.  Good lord, where is everyone going at that hour??? I get home around 9am and pass out. Of course this whole time Charlie has woken up and wondered what happened to me–he ended up staying home.

    So here I am, at home, bored out of my mind. L&D wants me to rest at home til I see my OB (tomorrow). As if this doesn’t add to the stress—the reason I am having pre-term labor symptoms. Bleh

     

November 23, 2007

  •  [mood | restedrefreshed ]
    [music| Guang Liang- Di Yi Ci ]

    Happy Thanksgiving

    I miss Thanksgiving. It’s never been a holiday I really cared about, so I should say I miss the food,  more specifically my mom and grandma’s food  I really miss the sides and most of all pumpkin pie. I am still debating if I should go buy some pie–but I don’t want to end up eating the whole thing

    Idiot Personal Trainers

    Ok so I went to the gym Wednesday night. It was hard not to want to run over and do the weights, sit-ups, run on the treadmil, etc. But I had told myself that I was there just to walk and not there to impress anyone. So here I am on the treadmil…. My goal was to walk for an hour–didn’t matter the speed or the distance, just walk. So I did. I am doing ok, resisting the urge to go too fast, listening to Jay Chou and all of a sudden I see this trainer standing in front of me. Where the fuck were all the trainers when I was desperately trying to lose weight? Fucker. So I remove my earphones as I see he’s trying to talk to me.

    Trainer: You know, you’re going to have to go a little faster if you want to lose that belly…. (cocky grin)

    Me: I’M FUCKING PREGNANT YOU ASSHOLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Trainer: Oh, sorry. I didn’t know….(walks away sheepishly)

    Seriously, I am freakin 7 months pregnant. How the fuck can you not tell? What do I look like I drink tons of beer? That would be one hell of a beer gut. Asshole

November 20, 2007

  •  [mood | relaxedrefreshed ]
    [music| Wang Lee Hom- Forever Love]

    Long Time No Update

    [edit-- some edits here and there]

    Geez whatever happened to the days where I updated xanga every day, sometimes more than once a day? I guess I miss my CuteEgg account and a job where I am paid to be on the computer  I guess you all will have to deal w/ my monthly (if you’re so lucky) updates for now….

    November….

    Ohio Baby Shower

    A huge thanks to Elaine for hosting my Ohio Baby Shower! And a big thank you for those of you who attended/sent gifts. It was a bitch to travel being as big fat and pregnant as I am , but it was worth it.  Everytime I go home though I keep debating whether or not we should move back.

    its a boy cake from golden delight

    Cake from Golden Delight—the lady there is so sweet! She actually sent me a baby snoopy present and called me! lol

    diaper cake2

    Diaper Cake made by my mommy

    nikolena and mo

    Nikolena and Mo

    daddy tool belt

    Daddy Tool Belt—yeah he knows it’s HIS job to change diapers

     

    ash nik mo

    People relaxing/catching up—look at my face ! hah!

    baby shower ohio

    catching up…

    oh baby shower2

     

    mommy and daddy

     

    Gosh at 27 weeks I am huge!!!

    oh baby shower group pic

    at the end…group pic

    (anyone else have some to send me???)

    Thanksgiving

    We’re not doing it again this year. I am not spending $ to go home and it is too much of a hassle. Besides, I am already in my 3rd trimester today (damn, gotta start those kick-counts). Charlie’s family doesn’t really celebrate it and most of our friends here are doing something family related. Here is where I really miss Ohio–my family meal and then the meal w/ friends who don’t have families here in the US. Waaa I miss the good old days…  I am not cooking and making a huge mess for 2, so it looks like we’ll be doing the same as last year—Chinese food somewhere

    Babies Galore

    Welcome Baby Alex 11/12! Congrats to Winny!!! Can’t wait to see him!!!
    Welcome Baby Megan 11/4 ! Congrats KC–Megan is beautiful–and my son’s future gf!
    Welcome Baby Rebecca Dolores 11/17! Congrats Sylvia! You’re a trooper breaking your water at work! Baby RD (5 weeks early) is a cutie!
    Welcome Baby Shannon 11/14 (also my grandma’s bday) ! Happy_M  you’re hardcore–your birth story was amazing, scary, but amazing and your daughter is beautiful.

    Charlie’s 30th Bday

    Whew! I am SO glad the planning is over on this one  Originally (like last year) I planned on a vegas trip, lots of clubbing, drinking, partying, etc. But nooooooooooooo I had to get myself knocked up (LOL jk) so we had to do something a little less wild this year for the big 3-0. Party planning, especially surprise planning can be a pain in the ass. First, you have to decide what to do. Originally I had planned a dinner at this fusion restaraunt then move over to their club after. Well, being that my preggo ass has to sit, we needed a table. Sure, no problem if you’re willing to drop $300 min/ bottle at the table. Depending on how many guests you want to have seats the more bottles you need. I had invited and heard a ‘yes’ from 12 people, so no way could  I afford a 3 bottle min… I did email and give options: dinner at this place, something at my house, boat ride, etc. Only one girl replied saying her and her bf needed it to be nearby our house. Fine, I can deal w that since I don’t want to drive all late (I am tired and sleep early now), so per her request I change it to a restaraunt near home. So far for everyone else.
    I have learned don’t be nice, don’t give options, just make a plan and ask.  I wish I knew this earlier, would have saved me a lot of headache.

    Oh wait, no it might not, since you will get a headache. People don’t know how to rsvp and you have to sneak out of your house, make mystery emails and calls, constantly be checking your evite page for updates just to see. I felt like such a stalker. Ugh. And then to some who already rsvp’d yes—well they change their mind that day!!!!

    So in the end…we ended up w/ 5 people. I guess it goes to show who are your really good friends…. It was at Savanna in Costa Mesa—for those of you in the area check it out….soooo yummy!!!!

    charlie 30 bday group 1

    Nikolena, Jason, Grace, Charlie & Danny

    charlie and danny
    Charlie & Danny (yes, I know, he LOVES that red shirt I got him last year on his bday, I swear he has other clothes!)

    jason and grace

    Charlie’s older brother Jason & GF Grace

    jason and grace 2

     

    nikolena and charlie 30th bday

    yeah yeah…I know my hair sucks

    charlie and nikolena bday party1

    I only had a bite of that cake but it was yummy!

    charlie 30 bday group 3

    charlie 30 bday group 2

     

    Vacation

    I do have this week off and it is SO nice. So relaxing! Whew! I have managed to put together half of our save the dates (my half anyways), get some lessons planned and just take it easy!!! yay Tonight we’re going to see comedy—always a good time!

    December… Winter ….

    Cali Baby Shower

    Not happened yet, but will be happening Dec 15... Jan 12….Let me know if I somehow missed you on the invites…

    Upcoming Holiday Parties [edit]

    Blah.  But we have to do it….I haven’t been to my work party since I started working there

    Charlie’s Work: Dec 1- went- was fun, got a navi & chafing pan thingy
    Middle School- Dec 8   not sure how i can go if i am on bedrest—looks weird to not go to work  but go party?
    Elementary School- Dec 14   ditto

    Holiday Shopping

    No Black Friday Shopping for me as I am not doing gifts this year. I am training Charlie to be a dirty Jew haha jk! But seriously, no gift exchanges for us and I am not going home for the holidays…does this mean Chinese food again

    Jay Chou Concert

    Oh yeah!!! Dec 24!!! You LA people should go—no excuses!

October 25, 2007

  • [mood | Tired lazy]
    [music| Jay Chou- Ke ai nu ren ]

    Thank you to all of you who left me comments on my last post. Things have gotten a little better here, but still need work. I am taking all of your advice into consideration

    Ouch!

    Everything hurts.  When it’s not my neck (I have no idea why other than tension) then it’s my back or my feet!!! I am in desperate need of some pregnancy massages

    California Wildfires

    Sheesh So Cal is STILL on fire! It’s crazy. We noticed it on Sunday when we were up near Malibu….we kinda thought it happens every year up there. Then shocker–Monday we learn that our area (irvine area) has fires. It smelled SO nasty on Monday. I took off Tuesday (more on that later) and then went to Work Wednesday. Totally regret that–w/ in 10  mins of being outside I got a nosebleed and threw up. Yuck! I have no idea why were even in school! The fire is like 10 mins away! And then I was stuck w/ 40+ kids in my room for lunch because they can’t eat outside  so no peace and quiet that day.

    Our district finally let us off Thursday (today) and tomorrow. They will tell us by 3pm on Sunday if we will have school Monday or not  Of course they can’t give you any advance so you can actually go somewhere….Oh well. Oh, and we have to make up the days at the end of the year.

    Either way, I am grateful we have time off–it is totally not ok to be out there breathing in that air, especially pregnant!!! I hope they get these fires taken care of soon—it’s so sad all the people who are now homeless

October 17, 2007

  • 23 weeks (~6 months pregnant) and I NEEEEEED a pregnancy massage

October 9, 2007

  •  [mood | Tired lazy]
    [music| Real- Qi Shi Wo Hai Ai Ni ]

    Work it, girl

    I should be at water aerobics right now but I am absolutely exhausted :( I need to rest and catch up on my school work. I will be going tomorrow though! No excuses  Water aerobics is kinda strange. First off, I was the only person in my class under the age of 50. No joke. Even the instructor was old and reminded me of one of those shuffleboard ladies in FL. Oh well, at least we’re all under water (and it does feel super nice to float around after carrying all this extra weight)… But I guess that’s good, I am not worried about being a huge whale, what do a bunch of old ladies care? (there are a lot of men who sit in the hot tub and watch our class, sick bastards!) My maternity suit works well, even though it could use a little more support in the top….

    Baby Shower

    I am coming home for my baby shower in Nov. It was a lot of back and forth arguing w/ family but finally I sucked it up and bought tickets for Charlie and I. Totally sucks to have to spend $ I don’t have (especially since I miss 6 weeks of unpaid work after baby is born!)but it gets my parents off my back. Why they couldn’t come to me (as it should be) and are making me travel when I am like 7 months along is completely beyond me

    The Big 3-0

    I need ideas for Charlie’s bday–some way to surprise him. His 30th is coming up and my original plan to get everyone on a cruise or weekend in vegas is now shot  So I need something new!!!!

  • Anyone wanna trade some McDonalds Monopoly pieces w/ me (or just gimme if you’re not playing)? :D

October 8, 2007

  •  [mood | still sicksick ]
    [music| A Mei- Yong Yuan de Kuai Le ]

    I have been sick for 2 weeks now–totally sucks not being able to take anything! Damn  germy little elementary and middle school kids

    Weekend Update:

    We kind of had a lazy weekend. Because of core testing I had some actual prep time during the week so my lessons are planned out for the next month. Whew!

    Friday night- Stayed in, watched 3 discs of Curb Your Enthusiasm (I have seen them all but Charlie is now in love w/ that show ), finished left over pizza. Slept early.

    Sat- Woke up early to teach Sat school from 8:30-10:30 while Charlie copied my workbook overheads for Chinese 1. Went to the grocery, came home, I took a nap, we hung out at home and watched the tivo….

    Sun- Went to brunch. It had to be the whitest and oldest place, ever! Holy, everyone there was super white, super rich, and super freakin’ old. Not good for table convo—and the waitress just thought it was ok to keep rubbing my tummy. What the fuck am I, the Buddha? Seriously, why do complete strangers feel they have the right to touch  you ??? Went for pedicures, shopping, home, more tv, laundry, etc.

    Speaking of shopping, today I was shopping for a maternity swim-suit at Mimi Maternity since Dr. Asshole still wants me to gain no more than 25lbs (he was much much much nicer now that I didn’t have my mom there with me…) so it’s off to water aerobics I go (anyone in OC wanna join?). Of course that turned into a huge fight w/ Charlie over which one made me look fat (of course they all did!bah!) and which one to get. I also ended up w/ maternity underwear a.k.a granny panties and a maternity winter coat. There was this fat (sorry to say it!) pregnant girl there who was being the biggest bitch ever to her mom because ‘nothing fit’ and she thought she could wear regular clothes. Um…no. It turns out that her and I are both 5 months. Once she found this out (hey, she asked me…) she starts screaming about how it was sooooo unfair and how this has ruined her day, why haven’t I gained any weight, etc. etc. Dude I have gained like 8lbs total so far! That’s some weight! The sales lady, Charlie and I all stood there in shock. I mean what do you say to that? There is no good answer.My coworker, L, who is further along than me had a similar question the other day (but she was much nicer). I think she’s gained 35lbs but coz she’s like almost 6′ tall and was thin before, you can’t really tell….maybe coz I was already chubby but w/ a small waist u can tell now (Charlie says my boobies look small now bc my tummy….)
    In the end, I felt bad for her…I mean it does suck when you feel all unattractive and just blah. With that in mind, here are some pics of my ‘bump’ at 22 weeks….

    (I warned you, I did gain weight!)

    bump1

    bump2

    bump3

     

September 12, 2007

September 11, 2007

  • [mood | Furious]
    [music| Jay Chou- Bu Neng Shuo de Mimi]

    So I went to my new Kaiser doc today. For those of you who don’t know already, I HATE HATE HATE HATE Kaiser. Arghhhhhhhhhhh!  I soooooooo can’t wait until Jan when open enrollment kicks in and I can change to Blue Cross.


    I got a new due date of Feb 12 (so funny, that’s G-Unit’s bday too!)  so I am 18 weeks now (funny how I was supposedly 15 and I kept telling them they’re off…). It’s in the middle of the time I thought (LMP) and the first quoted due date.


    Anyways, doc I saw was a TOTAL ASSHOLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    As soon as he walked in and picked up my chart he was like “you’re way too overweight.” I replied (in case he missed this) “I’m 18 weeks (4.5 months) pregnant”.

    He goes on to say, ” Let’s see here (whips out a BMI chart)… looks like you need to go on a no carb, no sugar, all fruit and veggie and protien diet. And excercise every day for at least 45 min-one hour”.

    I sat there completely stunned and feeling like shit.

    I weighed 120 before the pill (I am 5’4) in Sept. By April I weighed 145-149 depending on the day/time of the day/etc. (So I got off the pill, duh). When I went to the doc in June for my supposedly 8 wk appt (actually only 6 weeks) I was up to 149. (in the evening). I went to my July 20 appt and I was 149. (mid morning/early afternoon), I went in Aug 17 and was 147. I went back Aug 20 and had gained that tw weight back and was at 149. Today I was 153 (after work, after dinner, in work clothes) and I got totally yelled at about how I was already too fat, gained too much weight and I can only gain a total of 20lbs, so over the next 22 weeks I can only gain 13 more lbs!

    What a total ass! My mom and him were arguing and I left in tears. That fucker. I mean I know I am a little overweight (according to his BMI chart I should not weigh over 144 (145 makes me overweight) at my height and pre-pregnancy I was at 149). I wonder if those charts take in your body type and boobs. I mean for fucks’ sake I wear a 34DDD! And I do have big bones. At 149 I had a 24 in waist and ok now it’s up to 27.

     

    Ugh it’s so annoying. I feel so fat now, but I know lots of girls who gained 15lbs+ in the first trimester. I gained 4!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Anyways, I just needed to vent…..